• The then Pennsylvania State College of Optometry’s eye care service was considered the largest eye clinic in the country with increasing demands for service.


  • The clinics took care of 7,000 people with over 21,000 patient visits.


  • The buildings at both locations - on the 1800 block of Spring Garden Street and 1810 Brandywine Street - were remodeled and dedicated entirely as the College’s primary eye care clinics.


  • 18,000 people were cared for annually with 1,500-2,000 glasses dispensed free of charge.


  • The College opened a contact lens clinic – the first in any college or school of optometry.


  • The Pennsylvania State College of Optometry became the Pennsylvania College of Optometry.


  • Construction on The Eye Institute, 12th Street and Godfrey Avenue began. The 50,000+ square foot facility soon became a regional resource offering a personalized continuity of care for patients.
  • The site was called “one of the most unique eye care facilities in the country.”
  • The Eye Institute replaced the College’s satellite branches in the northern and central sections of Philadelphia.


  • The Eye Institute added two satellite locations to better serve its surrounding community.


  • After a multi-million dollar renovation, The "New" Eye Institute opened in May with a state-of-the-art design for high quality patient care that also respects patient confidentiality. Renovations of the second floor, which houses administrative and faculty offices, a classroom, two conference rooms, and a small café were completed later that year.


  • The Eye Institute of Salus University celebrated its 35th birthday from its “grand opening” in 1978.


  • The Eye Institute collaborated with Ampersand Health and CityLife Neighborhood Clinics to open an embedded primary care suite within The Eye Institute. (now Oak Street Health)


  • The Eye Institute celebrated 40 years of service to the Oak Lane community.