History

  • In 1927, the then Pennsylvania State College of Optometry’s eye care service was considered the largest eye clinic in the country with increasing demands for service.
  • By 1930, the clinics took care of 7,000 people with over 21,000 patient visits.
  • In 1933, the buildings at both locations - 1809 Spring Garden Street and 1810 Brandywine Street - were remodeled and dedicated entirely as the College’s primary eye care clinics.
  • As of 1936, 18,000 people were cared for annually with 1,500-2,000 glasses dispensed free of charge.
  • In 1949, the College opened a contact lens clinic – the first in any college or school of optometry.
  • In 1964, the Pennsylvania State College of Optometry became the Pennsylvania College of Optometry.
  • Construction on The Eye Institute, 12th Street and Godfrey Avenue, began in 1975. The 50,000+ square foot facility soon became a regional resource offering a  personalized continuity of care for patients.
  • The site was called “one of the most unique eye care facilities in the country.”
  • The Eye Institute replaced the College’s satellite branches in the northern and central sections of Philadelphia.
  • In the early 2000s, The Eye Institute added two satellite locations to better serve its surrounding community. 
  • After a multi-million dollar renovation, The "New" Eye Institute opened in May 2011 with a state-of-the-art design for high quality patient care that also respects patient confidentiality. Renovations of the second floor, which houses administrative and faculty offices, a classroom, two conference rooms, and a small café were completed in late 2011. 
  • In 2013, The Eye Institute of Salus University celebrated its 35th birthday from its “grand opening” in 1978.
  • In 2017, The Eye Institute collaborated with Ampersand Health and CityLife Neighborhood Clinics to open an embedded primary care suite within The Eye Institute. (now Oak Street Health)
  • In 2018, The Eye Institute celebrated 40 years of service to the Oak Lane community.